Behind the lessons

I hate her so much! I really hate her! Why can’t she be just so considerate to us? Doesn’t she know the meaning of “rest” or “break” or even “timeout”? When will she stop on giving us so many assignments? She’s so demanding! She’s the worst!

I am sure that you have already said these many times before behind the back of your teacher or maybe, in front of her as well.

stimulants-teacher-kids

Photo taken here

How much do you hate your teacher? How much do you hate her for making you suffer on a Friday night? I know how you feel. I know how hard it is to do homework late at night. And yes, it really makes our eyebrows cross.

But do you know how she feels when she knows that her students didn’t like what she asked them to do? Yes, we may answer “of course, I know that but who cares anyway?” She does. Do you know how hard she’s going through just to give you a lesson? Maybe some of you will say “I don’t care”. You’re not the only one who’s suffering on a Friday night. She, too, is having a hard time.

Don’t you know that our teachers are like us students? In their position, they are the student and the principal is their teacher. What they are doing is not simple as you can imagine.

“Hindi madali ang ginagawa namin bago kami humarap sa mga estudyante namin”says Vonic, 49. She’s been teaching for about 25 years now. Half of her life is dedicated to her profession. That’s why she knows how to deal with those impalpable critics and bitter words.

I remember when I was in high school, our Dean asked us something: Who among you wants to be a teacher someday?

No one raised their hand. No one. She half-smiled and asked if why we don’t want to be a teacher, where in fact, it is the most and always in demand job all over the world. Still, no one raised a hand. She continued that being a teacher is very hard. A lot of their students complain on the assignments that their teacher asked them to do. And some were not even listening to what they are teaching.

“Being a teacher is very hard but it is so overwhelming as well.”

She explained the differences of every profession we wanted to be. “If you’re a teacher, you will be very happy to see that your students learned something from you and when they grow up, they will never forget you. They will come back to you and still remember who you are and what you did for them. And I think that’s the best thing about being a teacher.”

In the back of my mind, I realized that teachers are true heroes. Not only because they give us knowledge, but because they teach us some values. They sacrifice more than we think they do. But behind the lessons they give to us, is a child who is crying inside a box—A child who grew up with a bit of bitter feelings to her mother.

She wakes up with a greeting from the egg and hotdog on the table. She eats alone at five in the morning. When she comes home from school, she has no one to tell her stories what had happened at school. And if her mother’s there, they can’t even share stories because she is busy doing her lesson plan or grades of her students.

“Mahirap saming mga teacher na hayaang mag-isa ang mga anak namin. Umaalis kami nang maaga para di kami ma-late sa school. Ang mga anak namin, di namin makasalo sa agahan. Gigising siya, wala na kami sa bahay. Di ko siya maayusan ng buhok o uniform bago pumasok. At pagdating naman sa bahay, di kami makapag-usap o kung minsan, nasusungitan pa dahil sa pagod namin sa eskwelahan.” I cried when our Dean dropped these words because I really can relate. It feels like she was talking to me alone.

It’s really hard to be a child of a teacher because you can’t deman

d a lot from her. I am very jealous of the students of my mom because they get to see her and spend more time than me where in fact, I’m the daughter.

I am too envious of the other kids who get to play with their mothers at home or arrange their lunchbox. I feel like the world is too hard on me because of it. I keep on asking “why can’t she listen to my silly stories? Why can’t she be the one who accompanies me at school? And why can’t my mom be just like their moms?” I never think of anyone’s feeling but mine.

But that was before.

DSC02460

My mom, Vonic, teaching her students how to do cross stitching

I do not think of those things anymore because I learned how to be appreciative and understanding. Now that I’m all grown up, I can understand everything that my mom is doing. As to my questions before, I think I know my answer to all of it—because she’s no ordinary person. That’s why I value the teachers. They are never ordinary. They are always beyond everybody.

I hate it every time I hear people talk behind their teachers’ backs—criticizing every move they notice about the teachers and most of the time, judging them. Not that I’m putting myself up. Of course, I criticize some of my teachers but, with a valid reason. I am not throwing bad words about them if I know that I have done something wrong and if it’s not worth to be mad at.

I am hurt to hear those things because I am thinking that, what if the teachers heard what was said about them.  I also feel sad because my mom is a teacher, too. In the years that I’ve spent with her in school, I’ve heard teachers talking behind her back, and as her daughter you can’t blame me if I feel bad.

It’s not a matter of what has been done. It’s a matter of respect. They deserve our respect. Teachers provide us knowledge that we need to live. They are the ones who serve as our second parents. They might scold us every now and then but don’t take it negatively, like our parents, they are doing it for our betterment.

They do simple things—things that we don’t notice; Simple things that changed our lives. Simple things we thought were simple, which made them unrecognized. They are the heroes of all time.

Read the full post HERE

Leave a Reply

